About the Organization

The Archaeological Survey of India (ASI), under the Ministry of Culture, was established in the year 1861 is the premier organization for the archaeological researches and protection of the cultural heritage of the nation. Maintenance of ancient monuments and archaeological sites and remains of national importance is the prime concern of the ASI. Besides it regulate all archaeological activities in the country as per the provisions of the Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains Act, 1958. It also regulates Antiquities and Art Treasure Act, 1972.

For the maintenance of ancient monuments and archaeological sites and remains of national importance the entire country is divided into 8 Circles. The organization has a large work force of trained archaeologists, conservators, epigraphist, architects and scientists for conducting archaeological research projects through its Circles, Museums, Excavation Branches, Prehistory Branch, Epigraphy Branches, Science Branch, Horticulture Branch, Building Survey Project, Temple Survey Projects and Underwater Archaeology Wing.

About the Bhopal Circle

Bhopal Circle of Archaeological Survey of India came into existence in the year 1953. Earlier this Circle was known as Central Circle. At that time jurisdiction of this circle was from Mandla district in the east to Jhabua district in the west and from Bhind district in the north up to the southern Rajasthan. Later on in 1976 the circle office was reorganised and except the state of M.P. the regions of Rajasthan and Maharashtra were excluded from it. This circle was known as central circle (Madhya Mandal) up to the year 1985. After its reorganisation in 1985, it was given the name of Bhopal Circle in which the region of Chhatisgarh was not included which is now a separate state. Allow the jurisdiction of Bhopal circle is political Boundaries at Madhya Pradesh. At present Bhopal circle manages the works of conservation of centrally protected monuments. Besides, the work of exploration, excavation scientific clearance and documentation are also being done by this circle. Three centrally protected monuments viz. Buddhist monuments at Sanchi, Prehistoric Rock Shelters of Bhimbetka (district Raisen) and Khajuraho group of monuments (district Chhatarpur) under the jurisdiction of Bhopal circle, are included in the World Heritage list of UNESCO.

Jurisdiction has been divided in five regions that is North region, South region, East region, West region and Central region. The Bhopal circle comes under the central region. The head quarter of central region is located in Bhopal itself.    More >>   |   Download Map

Bhopal Circle has the responsibility to maintain and conserve 183 monuments/ monuments complexes and sites declared as of National importance as per Ancient Monuments & Archaeological Sites & Remains Act 1958 and if individually counted there are 405 individual monuments and sites.

The Circle is responsible to carry out multifarious archaeological activities in the State of Madhya Pradesh. The Circle undertakes village to village survey, archaeological explorations, problem-oriented projects, identification of monuments for protection, conservation, preservation, management and general upkeep of centrally protected monuments.

To have proper control of multifarious activities of Archaeology and proper management of Centrally Protected Monuments, work is divided administratively into Eight (8) Sub-circles for carrying out conservation, preservation & management activities. These sub circles are headed by Senior Conservation Assistant/ Conservation Assistant Gr.I/ Conservation Assistant Gr.II/foremen. The sub circles are as below:-

  • Bhopal Sub-circle
  • Mandsaur Sub-circle
  • Mandu Sub-circle
  • Burhanpur Sub-circle
  • Sanchi Sub-circle
  • Vidisha Sub-circle
  • Chanderi Sub-circle
  • Gwalior Sub-circle

The Circle office is headed by the Superintending Archaeologist assisted by Deputy Superintending Archaeologist, Assistant Superintending Archaeologist and Assistant Superintending Archaeological Engineer besides other technical and ministerial staff.